Don’t Give Up on Your Idea Too Soon…

You come up with an exciting email idea. You believe it can be a quick win, a.k.a, high engagement and good revenue. You jump right on writing copy, turn it into an email template, get it approved by the client, set up a campaign, and send it. You can’t wait to see the performance.

But unfortunately, it doesn’t happen the way you expect. Low OR. Low CTR. Zero sales.

“It didn’t work. I need to find better ideas.”

Have you ever been in this situation?

I don’t know about you, but I was. Just tested an idea one time, and if it didn’t work, I skipped it and moved on to another.

I was sooooooooooo wrong!

Several factors can affect performance. Recipients, images, word use, CTA, layout, links, etc. Sending one campaign isn't enough to decide whether an idea works.

An “Autumn recipes” email I sent in April had no sales. But in July, I tried it again. I sent a “Winter recipes” email (with the same design, only changing the messaging and recipes to make it relevant to winter) to the same segment, and it brought over $1,000. Better copy helped.

So, please don’t give up on your idea too soon. If you really believe it can be something, give it at least two tries. An idea might not work in the past, but with some improvement or tweaks, it can work in the future.

Hope this newsletter is useful to you. Thank you for reading.