An Exciting Tactic to Test for BFCM

You might like it a lot.

Today I received an email from Greenleaf Gifts.

Subject line: A DEAL JUST FOR YOU…

Preview line: N/A

This is the email:

As you can see, it doesn’t show the offer - only says, “Click here [hyperlink] to get a deal.”

I clicked, and it directed me to this page:

The page copy is quite similar to the email’s message. The only difference is it highlights an offer and a discount code.

This is interesting because when email says “deal” but doesn’t reveal the specific offer, it makes me curious, so I clicked through the email (here psychology of curiosity comes into play). I guess Greenleaf Gifts’ hypothesis is if they can lure people to a landing page where they show the offer boldly, they’ll have a higher chance of converting them.

The page copy also feels personal with the signature “You got this! ❤️ Love, The Greenleaf Team.” (I wish they could optimize the landing page with personalized product recommendations and remove the embedded newsletter form so that customers only see one 15% off offer.)

Conventionally brands show offers immediately in emails because this way, recipients can know what they’re getting immediately (more time-saving and convenient) and get excited to buy. But I believe that’s not always the case.

I’ll make a test and will keep you posted on the results.

In the meantime, what do you think about this idea? Is it good or bad?

Let me know.

Have a great weekend.

Lavender

💌 Need my help with email strategy, planning, and implementation? Feel free to drop me a message, and we can chat. You can click here to learn about my service offerings.

😊 “When it comes to email strategy – not many people have the brain for it. Not only does Lavender have a brain built for email strategy, but she’s also got the copywriting skills to match. She’s a pro at finding (and filling) the gaps in your email experience and increasing email revenue.” Samar Owais, Founder of Emails Done Right, eCommerce Email Strategist